Why Careers In Blue?

Here’s what our clients say about us

Presentation to Policing Students at Cumbria University

Thanks to University of Cumbria especially Nick and the team for welcoming Chris and Jan once again to deliver their National Sift and Online Assessment Centre Workshops to the policing students.

Students get a valuable insight into the police officer recruitment process which increases their chances of achieving their chosen career immensely! Great support for students shown from the university.

#policeofficers #police #careersuccess

LinkedIn Post – dated 8th February 2024 

Presentations to Oxford and Guildford UPS students

Spent a great couple of days at colleges down in Oxford and Guildford speaking to students on Uniformed Protective Services courses with Activate Learning Careers. Special thanks to Andrew Slater and the team for inviting us to speak to the students and for facilitating our visit.

Made to feel very welcome and appreciated by all members of the team across the two days and the students were attentive, asking some well thought out questions.

Thank you to all involved! Hopefully we gave the students a good insight into police recruitment and how to prepare for it now.

LinkedIn Post – dated 1st and 2nd February 2024 

Full days presentations to UPS and Level 6 Sociology and Criminology Students at Bishop Auckland College

Author – Katy DIXON FE/HE Leader/Manager  Bishop Auckland College 

Another day, another fantastic stakeholder involved in curriculum and careers delivery within the Criminology & Uniformed Services department at Bishop Auckland College! 🌟

Today, we welcomed the lovely Jan Scrutton and Christine Farrell from Careers In Blue who provided a presentation to our Level 3 UPS students, helping them to understand their options following successful completion of their 2-year course this summer.

Then this afternoon they presented again to our final year Level 6 BA (Hons) Sociology & Criminology students, highlighting degree graduate opportunities and advising on areas of focus for these students following graduation.

Thanks for travelling up to see us ladies. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Sharron Trevor Paige Dawson Amy Algar Abbie R. Laura Stobbs Dr Nicola Wigmore

#HEinFE #university #careersupport #BishopAuckland

LinkedIn post Dated 31st January 2024 

Presentation to Policing students at Liverpool John Moores University

Great to have Jan Scrutton and Christine Farrell from Careers In Blue deliver a workshop on their role, the Police Recruitment Process and the various options open to those from the Policing Society this evening. Hope it was of much benefit and an enjoyable event for all in attendance.

Thank you for delivering a wonderful presentation, and you are doing a fantastic job.

LinkedIn post from Aaron Wells Level 6 Professional Policing Student  at LJMU – Dated 24th January 2024 

Online Presentation to Suffolk New College - UPS students.

Thank you to Suffolk New College for hosting our Careers In Blue trainers Jan and Chris!

Another great Online Presentation today for their Policing students! Great to see everyone with our Police Recruitment Start To Finish workbooks and scribbling notes in them….thank you especially to Martin Memory for facilitating the event and inviting us.

LinedIn Posted 16th January 2024 

Reply – Lee MANDLEY –
Director of Service Industries and Science at Suffolk New College

Great work Martin Memory and huge thanks to Careers In Blue and Suffolk Constabulary for helping us to give our Policing Diploma students an amazing experience and insight into their future careers.

Having a course designed with employers is absolutely the way to go to support recruitment and retention with sustainability for the workforce and Suffolk Constabulary have been incredible with their support and input.

Initial Meeting with Katy DIXON at Bishop Auckland College

Katy DIXON – FE/HE Leader/Manager at Bishop Auckland College

Fantastic initial meeting this morning online with the lovely Jan Scrutton and Christine Farrell of Careers In Blue with my colleague Sharron Trevor. Can’t wait to welcome you both into Bishop Auckland College soon to help influence and upskill our Criminology, Policing & UPS students in preparation for their future

Posted LinkedIn Jan 2020

Update – Presentations to students held 31st January 2024 

Online Presentation to Fareham and Eastleigh College - UPS students

First Online presentation across 2 different colleges for Careers In Blue for 2024!

Thanks to Fareham College and Eastleigh College for ‘hosting’ Chris and Jan, especially Iain Russell who organised the event for UPS students across the two sites, which seemed to go down really well!

Students were interested, attentive and hopefully picked up plenty of tips to help their employability going forward, especially those interested in a police officer or police staff career!

Promising to make good use of our Police Recruitment Start To Finish, and Application Forms & Structured Interviews workbooks, students will certainly find them helpful for career applications!

LinkedIn post dated 3rd January 2024 

Reply from King Edward V1 college requesting offering presentation to their students 

Awaiting to Join Merseyside Police Detective Entry

Could not thank Jan and Chris enough for their help and encouragement throughout the whole process. They helped with my National Sift which on first try, without their help, I failed. This is one of their free services and was extremely helpful. I then booked onto their course for the OAC and In Force Structured Interview, without their help I know I wouldn’t of passed either and they had unyielding faith in me and finished the courses feeling much more positive than when I went in. I also had a mock interview which helped calm my nerves and understand what the interviewers are really looking for. I am now going through the last stages of recruitment for Merseyside Police Degree Holder Detective Pathway and I know I wouldn’t be at this stage without their help and support. Thank you Jan and Chris!

5* Google Review dated December 2023 – Melissa – applying from Mersyside Police Detective Pathway 

5* Google review - regarding Police Recruitment Start to Finish Workbook

An amazing and such a helpful service during my police recruitment process! The booklet of police recruitment helped me pass my OAC and prep for my interview for the Dhep detective for Met Police.

5* Google Review -dated 14th February 2024 – Shannon – Awaiting to join Met Police 

Presentation to Uniformed Protective Services students and Team - Sandwell College

Thank you to Sandwell College, especially Angela Tombs and the Uniformed Protective Services Team for hosting Christine Farrell and Jan Scrutton from Careers In Blue ! 

Students were well behaved, attentive and asked some great questions ! 

They now have the support of Careers In Blue both at college and when they finish next year ! 

Great for Sandwell College’s contribution to their emplyability ! 

LinkedIn post dated November 2023 

Awaiting start date to join Cheshire Police

Thanks to Jan and Chris for their expert support through the policing application.

From the situational judgment test up to my final interview they made what can be a complicated process easy to understand.

I highly recommend the Careers In Blue Police Recruitment Start to Finish workbook which is a vital tool for anyone starting the application process. Thanks again!

Alex – awaiting start date for Cheshire Police

Awaiting to join GMP as a New Recruit.

As somebody who has always wanted to join the police, I couldn’t be more thankful of the help and advice I have received from Careers in blue.

I strongly advise anyone aspiring to get into the police to purchase the book which is on offer.

It will be the best thing you ever spend your money on and it contains everything you need to know about every stage of the process. Thank you!

Thank you Luke for your kind review. We are so pleased you found our Police Recruitment Start to Finish Workbook useful in your application. We wish wish you every success in your career. Chris and Jan @careersinblue

5* Google Review – December 2023 – Luke T

Finished Police Training and now independent patrol officer

Thanks guys for the great help, purchasing your book was a crucial part of me getting in the police.

It was recommended by somebody I know and I would recommend to anybody else who has ideas of joining the police.

Very simple and understanding way of helping you pass each process. Thanks guys

Thank you Tom! So glad our book was useful to you – good luck and have a great career!

5* Google Review Dated December 2023 – Tom R

Employment in the Hospitality Sector

Many thanks to the Careers in Blue team, especially Chris and Jan, who have been very helpful along my journey to post-university employment.

Both are very knowledgeable and offer expert guidance to those aspiring to work in the police force.

Many thank Sophie for your kind words. We are so pleased that you found our tip of the week and weekly chat extremely useful and helped with your preparation to your new career. Best of luck for the future. Careers In Blue team

5* Google Review – dated October 2023 

Awaiting start date to join Cumbria Police

My university provided us with the careers in blue work books and paid Chris and Jan to come in for a few sessions regarding the police recruitment process.

I had personally struggled with the recruitment assessments and had failed both parts previously, however, after having 1 to 1 sessions over teams with Chris and Jan, as well as completing some SIFT practice questions and mock interview questions, I was able to pass with flying colours!

I would highly recommend their service to anyone and would go as far as to say that their input was paramount to me passing my recruitment process.

Lexi – awaiting start date for Cumbria Police

Presentation to Protective Services Students - Cronton College

Fantastic day for Careers In Blue! Welcomed by tutors and students at Cronton College in their State of the Art Immersive Centre!

Gave our Preparing for a Police Application to Level 3 students who were impeccably behaved!

Thanks to Liam Clark for arranging event!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 25th September 2023 – Liam Clark  UPS Lead 

Presentation to Protective Services Students - Coleg Llandrillo

Thank you to Coleg Llandrillo for welcoming Careers In Blue!

Chris and Jan had a great day with both Year 1 and Year 2 UPS students who were so well behaved and asked some great questions!

Thank you especially to Ian Marshall for arranging the day!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 18th October 2023 Ian Marshall  UPS Lead 

Presentation to Protective Services Students - Oldham College

Thank you to tutors and students for welcoming Chris and Jan back to Oldham College for the second year!

Great to meet all the students and hopefully they benefitted from the presentation in a number of ways.

Thanks especially to Nathan Street for arranging the visit!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 11th October 2023 Nathan Street  UPS Lead 

Presentation to Protective Services Students - St. Johns Rigby RC 6th Form College

First presentation of the new academic year for Careers In Blue! Thanks to St John Rigby College, students and tutors for inviting us and making our staff so welcome! Students were impeccably behaved and attentive!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 21st September 2023 Rebecca O’ Brien UPS Lead 

Presentation to Public Service Students - West Lancashire College

Fabulous work shop for students at West Lancashire College studying Public Services, thank you Careers In Blue for sharing your amazing stories and supporting our students with their careers.

 Posted – LinkedIn dated May 2023 – Wendy Bennett  – Head of Curriculum

Presentation to UPS Students at Hartpury University and Hartpury College

On Thursday 5th October 2023 Careers In Blue had a fantastic day at Hartpury University and Hartpury College providing our Police Recruitment Presentation to Level 2 Uniformed Protective Services Students.

Many thanks to all students for being attentive and asked some great questions.

Thanks also to Nick Howson and staff for accommodating our visit.

We hope to see you again!

Posted 6th October 2023 – LinkedIn – Nick Howson Course Tutor UPS 

 

Awaiting start date for Humberside Police

The Careers in Blue team are incredibly helpful in ALL aspects of applying to the police force.

I would not have been able to pass without their help through workshops, weekly teams meetings and their VERY in-depth book.

The price of the workshops and the book are massively outweighed by the support that you are given as their guidance and experience is priceless.

Thank you very much.

Jake – Humberside Police – New Recruit 

Presentation to Public Service Students and Staff at Kirklees College.

Thank you to staff and students at Kirklees College yesterday for welcoming Careers In Blue!

We had a great day, two sessions, one for staff, one for students, both went really well with loads of interesting questions. Students really attentive and well mannered, a credit to tutors and your college!

Looking forward to working with you all again in the future!

Kirklees College – LinkedIn post dated 9th June 2023

Starting as a permanent teacher in September 2023

Careers in Blue have been a great help in securing my first ever, permanent teaching job!

Jan and Chris were great in running through  numerous questions that were likely to come up in my teaching interview.

They walked me though what would be expected through all 3 parts of the interview: the lesson observation, formal interview and pupil panel, as well as before these, writing my application letter.

 They both were professional and approachable, offering good feedback throughout my time with them both.

As well as help with application letter, I also had a mock interview with both Jan and Chris, practising many questions that did indeed come up in my interview! Their advice was invaluable and put me at ease during the process. 

I felt like going through the whole interview process with Careers in Blue gave me an advantage, and I owe a lot to the great team for the help they gave!

 People don’t warn you how competitive teaching jobs are, I was one of 60 applicants for my chosen school.

After I qualified from Edge Hill University, I wasn’t successful at first with any of my applications. But after speaking with Jan and Chris, editing my application, I was invited for a lessons observation and interview at my first choice school!

After my interview the headmistress specifically mentioned my interview answers, saying I appeared confident and had ‘well-constructed, thought-out answers and responses’.

 Thanks again Jan and Chris, I couldn’t have done it without you – 10/10 would recommend!

Ethan – successful interview for teaching post

Awaiting date for Merseyside Police - New Recruit

I am extremely grateful to have came across Career’s in blue just before I began my application process with Merseyside Police.

Jan and Chris have helped me from the start of my initial application right up until my final interview, and I cannot recommend either of them enough to anybody thinking about a career within the Police.

I attended the OAC workshop with Jan and Chris, as well as the final interview course and also purchased the ‘police recruitment start to finish’ workbook, which granted with me a range of knowledge and information on what to expect at different stages of the process.

The support and help I received from Jan and Chris has been second to none, they have been amazing throughout and really are such lovely people.

I definitely wouldn’t have achieved what I have without either of them!

Keira – Merseyside Police IPLDP New Recruit

Alex - Merseyside Police IPLDP - New Recruit

Careers in Blue have been fantastic in their support and are so knowledgeable about each stage of the recruitment process.

Chris and Jan have always been on hand to answer any questions or put any fears to rest.

They offer mock interviews and weekly chats giving you all the tools and knowledge to set you up for the real thing.

Having this support took the stress away and meant I was going into my online assessment and final interview confident and prepared.

I would recommend Careers in Blue to everyone looking for a role in the police, thank you!

Alex – Merseyside Police IPLDP New Recruit

Awaiting date for Bedfordshire Police - New Recruit

 

I searched various training sites on the net and choose Careers in Blue for their succinct practical advice and comprehensive workbooks.  The workbooks are a first-class training resource. 

I was able to attend weekly and OAC training sessions.  These considerably built my confidence and understanding of the processes and how to do well.  It was also a good opportunity to hear about experiences from other students. 

I passed all the stages including final interview and don’t think I would without the expert coaching from Jan and Chris.

Mark – Bedfordshire Police – Detective Entry New Recruit

 

Presentation to Blackpool Cadets

Thank you for the warm welcome Blackpool cadets gave Careers In Blue last night!

The young cadets were so attentive and polite, some great questions making it a worthwhile and pleasant evening.

Great timing with Lancs police just opening their IPLDP recruitment pathway this week and other cadets applying for Police staff roles.

A lot of talk around the reintroduction of IPLDP entry path which was supposed to bring phased out until the recent announcement by the Home Secretary and explanations of the difference between the other entry pathways.

Great evening! Thank you Nikki and Mark for facilitating the training, Harvey for being our IT guy and to Blackpool cadets for your enthusiasm!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 21/01/2023 

 

Preparation Workshop - Public Service Students KGV/Southport College

#careersinblue had a great afternoon on Wednesday 8th February presenting our ‘How to prepare for your future career’ to 1st year Public Services students from KGV/ Southport College.

Many thanks to Darren Brookfield Curriculum Manager at KGV for inviting Jan and I in providing your students with help and advice around planning and preparation for their chosen career path.

It was wonderful to see young students who have a clear idea of what they would like to do and some fantastic questions too.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 08/02/2023 

Police Recruitment Q&A - University of Suffolk

#careersinblue delivered our Police Recruitment and Advice Q&A webinar with University of Suffolk Thursday 9th February.

Thank you Annabelle Richardson careers and employability officer for inviting Jan and I.

We provided advice and guidance to students around the police recruitment process and had great questions asked. 👍

Posted – LinkedIn 09/02/2023 

Careers Fair - Rainhill High School

Great day today for #careersinblue at Rainhill High School Careers Fair.

Special thanks to Cherry Bryant for inviting #careersinblue and to all the staff who were so friendly and helpful.

Your students asked great questions around the police recruitment process, and where really interested in the police service.

It was lovely meeting so many other industries who were supporting students with their future career paths. Thank you for making this an enjoyable day.

Posted – LinkedIn dated Feb 2023 

Presentation to Level 3 Public Service Students at St Helens College

Another great day for #careersinblue as we provided a presentation to Level 3 Public Services Students at St Helens College around the police officer and police staff application process. Also to share our experience within the police service.

Many thanks to Kelvin Gardner Public Service Lead who facilitated # careersinblue and to your students who were attentive and asked some great questions around the recruitment process.

Looking forward to working with you again and supporting your students in preparation for a police career within the policing sector.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 22/02/2023

Police Online Assessment Centre Workshop to Students at Cumbria University

Another great day today for #careersinblue as we visited Cumbria University and presented our Online Assessment Centre Workshop to students studying the Professional Policing Degree.

Many thanks to Nick Symonds Senior Lecturer in Policing /Programme Lead for accommodating #careersinblue and to your students who were attentive and asked some great questions.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 24/02/2023

Police Final Structured Interview Workshop -Cumbria University Students

Thank you to Nick from University of Cumbria for a warm welcome to Careers In Blue doing a Final Interview workshop for students on their Professional Policing course.

Great to see students using their Police Recruitment Start To Finish Workbooks which they said were practical and simplistic – no waffle / unneeded text and complimented us on the amount of really useful information in them! Great to hear!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 28/02/2023 

 

Awaiting start date for Humberside Police

 

I can’t express enough my gratitude for the invaluable assistance provided by Careers In Blue guiding people, like myself, towards a career in law enforcement. Their deep knowledge base is truly impressive, providing a wealth of useful information that I haven’t been able to find anywhere else. Not only do they have a thorough understanding of the process of joining the police, but their expertise covers a broad range of topics, reflecting their dedication and passion for their mission. I highly recommend their services to anyone considering a career in law enforcement. Their support can truly make a difference.

Omar – Police Officer Humberside Police 

Awaiting start date for Police Staff - Humberside Police

Careers in blue got me through moments of uncertainty. It was initially recommended by a friend and I was skeptical since the role I was pursuing was non-uniform but still within the police. Nonetheless, I joined the mailing list. Had one to one meetings on a weekly basis, asked questions, and went through parts I wasn’t clear on with Chris and Jan. They were so helpful, the team sent helpful tips send every Sunday relevant to any role within the police, prepared me for interview, and how to overcome some questions. There are helpful workbooks, which were useful in terms of ethics and values. The teams chat, however, was particularly useful, encouraging, and lovely people. I would highly recommend careers in blue. It truly is amazing, no regrets, and yes I got that job 🙂

Aida – Polce Staff Humberside Police 

Awaiting start date to Humberside Police

“Absolutely fantastic! Careers in blue support you right through the recruiting process. I passed each stage first time. Well worth the investment and would recommend 100%”.

Leila – Police Officer IPLDP Detective – Humberside Police 

I had followed Careers in Blue on Twitter for a while and was on their mailing list, but at first wasn’t in a position to need them, however, when it came to completing my application for the police, I knew that they offered services that would be really beneficial to me, and give me the best chance of success. 

I knew I had life experience to be able to give examples of where my past actions show evidence of the competencies and values that the police recruit based upon, however, it was only when I’d had sessions with Chris and Jan, talking through my past experiences, that I was able to verbalise my experiences and make them into examples that I could give five minutes worth of detail in an interview about. Chris and Jan use their first hand experience of frontline policing to guide you through the police recruitment process – from start to finish. 

Physical workbooks are provided to you with examples of potential scenarios a candidate could be asked about as well a tried and tested way to structure your example in an interview to ensure you give the information in a concise and focused way, yet being able to talk about each one for 5 minutes. Both incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, with their 3 hour workshops focused on both the Online Assessment Centre recruitment stage, and final in force interview stage really help you prepare, and understand how you will be questioned. 

Weekly recruitment drop in chats on Tuesday evenings allow you to keep in touch and then the workshops allow you to understand what is required of you. I was successful at the online assessment centre and final interview, and it was definitely due to the help of Jan and Chris. Before using Careers in Blue, I was moderately confident about going through the recruitment stages, yet afterwards, I was absolutely confident. I’d absolutely recommend using careers in blue and the expertise offered for anyone starting policing as a new career or looking to make lateral moves.

 

Dan, New Recruit GMP Degree Holder Entry Programme

Why Careers In Blue?

Here’s what our clients say about us

Presentation to Protective Services Students - St. Johns Rigby RC 6th Form College

First presentation of the new academic year for Careers In Blue! Thanks to St John Rigby College, students and tutors for inviting us and making our staff so welcome! Students were impeccably behaved and attentive!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 21st September 2023 Rebecca O’ Brien UPS Lead 

Presentation to Public Service Students - West Lancashire College

Fabulous work shop for students at West Lancashire College studying Public Services, thank you Careers In Blue for sharing your amazing stories and supporting our students with their careers.

 Posted – LinkedIn dated May 2023 – Wendy Bennett  – Head of Curriculum

Presentation to UPS Students at Hartpury University and Hartpury College

On Thursday 5th October 2023 Careers In Blue had a fantastic day at Hartpury University and Hartpury College providing our Police Recruitment Presentation to Level 2 Uniformed Protective Services Students.

Many thanks to all students for being attentive and asked some great questions.

Thanks also to Nick Howson and staff for accommodating our visit.

We hope to see you again!

Posted 6th October 2023 – LinkedIn – Nick Howson Course Tutor UPS 

 

Awaiting start date for Humberside Police

The Careers in Blue team are incredibly helpful in ALL aspects of applying to the police force.

I would not have been able to pass without their help through workshops, weekly teams meetings and their VERY in-depth book.

The price of the workshops and the book are massively outweighed by the support that you are given as their guidance and experience is priceless.

Thank you very much.

Jake – Humberside Police – New Recruit 

Presentation to Public Service Students and Staff at Kirklees College.

Thank you to staff and students at Kirklees College yesterday for welcoming Careers In Blue!

We had a great day, two sessions, one for staff, one for students, both went really well with loads of interesting questions. Students really attentive and well mannered, a credit to tutors and your college!

Looking forward to working with you all again in the future!

Kirklees College – LinkedIn post dated 9th June 2023

Starting as a permanent teacher in September 2023

Careers in Blue have been a great help in securing my first ever, permanent teaching job!

Jan and Chris were great in running through  numerous questions that were likely to come up in my teaching interview.

They walked me though what would be expected through all 3 parts of the interview: the lesson observation, formal interview and pupil panel, as well as before these, writing my application letter.

 They both were professional and approachable, offering good feedback throughout my time with them both.

As well as help with application letter, I also had a mock interview with both Jan and Chris, practising many questions that did indeed come up in my interview! Their advice was invaluable and put me at ease during the process. 

I felt like going through the whole interview process with Careers in Blue gave me an advantage, and I owe a lot to the great team for the help they gave!

 People don’t warn you how competitive teaching jobs are, I was one of 60 applicants for my chosen school.

After I qualified from Edge Hill University, I wasn’t successful at first with any of my applications. But after speaking with Jan and Chris, editing my application, I was invited for a lessons observation and interview at my first choice school!

After my interview the headmistress specifically mentioned my interview answers, saying I appeared confident and had ‘well-constructed, thought-out answers and responses’.

 Thanks again Jan and Chris, I couldn’t have done it without you – 10/10 would recommend!

Ethan – successful interview for teaching post

Awaiting date for Merseyside Police - New Recruit

I am extremely grateful to have came across Career’s in blue just before I began my application process with Merseyside Police.

Jan and Chris have helped me from the start of my initial application right up until my final interview, and I cannot recommend either of them enough to anybody thinking about a career within the Police.

I attended the OAC workshop with Jan and Chris, as well as the final interview course and also purchased the ‘police recruitment start to finish’ workbook, which granted with me a range of knowledge and information on what to expect at different stages of the process.

The support and help I received from Jan and Chris has been second to none, they have been amazing throughout and really are such lovely people.

I definitely wouldn’t have achieved what I have without either of them!

Keira – Merseyside Police IPLDP New Recruit

Alex - Merseyside Police IPLDP - New Recruit

Careers in Blue have been fantastic in their support and are so knowledgeable about each stage of the recruitment process.

Chris and Jan have always been on hand to answer any questions or put any fears to rest.

They offer mock interviews and weekly chats giving you all the tools and knowledge to set you up for the real thing.

Having this support took the stress away and meant I was going into my online assessment and final interview confident and prepared.

I would recommend Careers in Blue to everyone looking for a role in the police, thank you!

Alex – Merseyside Police IPLDP New Recruit

Awaiting date for Bedfordshire Police - New Recruit

 

I searched various training sites on the net and choose Careers in Blue for their succinct practical advice and comprehensive workbooks.  The workbooks are a first-class training resource. 

I was able to attend weekly and OAC training sessions.  These considerably built my confidence and understanding of the processes and how to do well.  It was also a good opportunity to hear about experiences from other students. 

I passed all the stages including final interview and don’t think I would without the expert coaching from Jan and Chris.

Mark – Bedfordshire Police – Detective Entry New Recruit

 

Presentation to Blackpool Cadets

Thank you for the warm welcome Blackpool cadets gave Careers In Blue last night!

The young cadets were so attentive and polite, some great questions making it a worthwhile and pleasant evening.

Great timing with Lancs police just opening their IPLDP recruitment pathway this week and other cadets applying for Police staff roles.

A lot of talk around the reintroduction of IPLDP entry path which was supposed to bring phased out until the recent announcement by the Home Secretary and explanations of the difference between the other entry pathways.

Great evening! Thank you Nikki and Mark for facilitating the training, Harvey for being our IT guy and to Blackpool cadets for your enthusiasm!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 21/01/2023 

 

Preparation Workshop - Public Service Students KGV/Southport College

#careersinblue had a great afternoon on Wednesday 8th February presenting our ‘How to prepare for your future career’ to 1st year Public Services students from KGV/ Southport College.

Many thanks to Darren Brookfield Curriculum Manager at KGV for inviting Jan and I in providing your students with help and advice around planning and preparation for their chosen career path.

It was wonderful to see young students who have a clear idea of what they would like to do and some fantastic questions too.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 08/02/2023 

Police Recruitment Q&A - University of Suffolk

#careersinblue delivered our Police Recruitment and Advice Q&A webinar with University of Suffolk Thursday 9th February.

Thank you Annabelle Richardson careers and employability officer for inviting Jan and I.

We provided advice and guidance to students around the police recruitment process and had great questions asked. 👍

Posted – LinkedIn 09/02/2023 

Careers Fair - Rainhill High School

Great day today for #careersinblue at Rainhill High School Careers Fair.

Special thanks to Cherry Bryant for inviting #careersinblue and to all the staff who were so friendly and helpful.

Your students asked great questions around the police recruitment process, and where really interested in the police service.

It was lovely meeting so many other industries who were supporting students with their future career paths. Thank you for making this an enjoyable day.

Posted – LinkedIn dated Feb 2023 

Presentation to Level 3 Public Service Students at St Helens College

Another great day for #careersinblue as we provided a presentation to Level 3 Public Services Students at St Helens College around the police officer and police staff application process. Also to share our experience within the police service.

Many thanks to Kelvin Gardner Public Service Lead who facilitated # careersinblue and to your students who were attentive and asked some great questions around the recruitment process.

Looking forward to working with you again and supporting your students in preparation for a police career within the policing sector.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 22/02/2023

Police Online Assessment Centre Workshop to Students at Cumbria University

Another great day today for #careersinblue as we visited Cumbria University and presented our Online Assessment Centre Workshop to students studying the Professional Policing Degree.

Many thanks to Nick Symonds Senior Lecturer in Policing /Programme Lead for accommodating #careersinblue and to your students who were attentive and asked some great questions.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Posted – LinkedIn dated 24/02/2023

Police Final Structured Interview Workshop -Cumbria University Students

Thank you to Nick from University of Cumbria for a warm welcome to Careers In Blue doing a Final Interview workshop for students on their Professional Policing course.

Great to see students using their Police Recruitment Start To Finish Workbooks which they said were practical and simplistic – no waffle / unneeded text and complimented us on the amount of really useful information in them! Great to hear!

Posted – LinkedIn dated 28/02/2023 

 

Awaiting start date for Humberside Police

 

I can’t express enough my gratitude for the invaluable assistance provided by Careers In Blue guiding people, like myself, towards a career in law enforcement. Their deep knowledge base is truly impressive, providing a wealth of useful information that I haven’t been able to find anywhere else. Not only do they have a thorough understanding of the process of joining the police, but their expertise covers a broad range of topics, reflecting their dedication and passion for their mission. I highly recommend their services to anyone considering a career in law enforcement. Their support can truly make a difference.

Omar – Police Officer Humberside Police 

Awaiting start date for Police Staff - Humberside Police

Careers in blue got me through moments of uncertainty. It was initially recommended by a friend and I was skeptical since the role I was pursuing was non-uniform but still within the police. Nonetheless, I joined the mailing list. Had one to one meetings on a weekly basis, asked questions, and went through parts I wasn’t clear on with Chris and Jan. They were so helpful, the team sent helpful tips send every Sunday relevant to any role within the police, prepared me for interview, and how to overcome some questions. There are helpful workbooks, which were useful in terms of ethics and values. The teams chat, however, was particularly useful, encouraging, and lovely people. I would highly recommend careers in blue. It truly is amazing, no regrets, and yes I got that job 🙂

Aida – Polce Staff Humberside Police 

Awaiting start date to Humberside Police

“Absolutely fantastic! Careers in blue support you right through the recruiting process. I passed each stage first time. Well worth the investment and would recommend 100%”.

Leila – Police Officer IPLDP Detective – Humberside Police 

I had followed Careers in Blue on Twitter for a while and was on their mailing list, but at first wasn’t in a position to need them, however, when it came to completing my application for the police, I knew that they offered services that would be really beneficial to me, and give me the best chance of success. 

I knew I had life experience to be able to give examples of where my past actions show evidence of the competencies and values that the police recruit based upon, however, it was only when I’d had sessions with Chris and Jan, talking through my past experiences, that I was able to verbalise my experiences and make them into examples that I could give five minutes worth of detail in an interview about. Chris and Jan use their first hand experience of frontline policing to guide you through the police recruitment process – from start to finish. 

Physical workbooks are provided to you with examples of potential scenarios a candidate could be asked about as well a tried and tested way to structure your example in an interview to ensure you give the information in a concise and focused way, yet being able to talk about each one for 5 minutes. Both incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, with their 3 hour workshops focused on both the Online Assessment Centre recruitment stage, and final in force interview stage really help you prepare, and understand how you will be questioned. 

Weekly recruitment drop in chats on Tuesday evenings allow you to keep in touch and then the workshops allow you to understand what is required of you. I was successful at the online assessment centre and final interview, and it was definitely due to the help of Jan and Chris. Before using Careers in Blue, I was moderately confident about going through the recruitment stages, yet afterwards, I was absolutely confident. I’d absolutely recommend using careers in blue and the expertise offered for anyone starting policing as a new career or looking to make lateral moves.

 

Dan, New Recruit GMP Degree Holder Entry Programme

Police Recruitment Start to Finish Book

I have just finished reading your booklet.  It is very thorough and I really like the tone of your explanation – it makes it really easy to read. 

I also really like your own version of presenting evidence/examples through the STORY concept, it makes the information and narration more personal and realistic.

Mike – Senior Lecturer  and MSc Programme Leader at University 

Police Recruitment Start to Finish Book

before additions – ‘ The feedback for your book from my colleagues was very good.  There were a couple of things they picked up on around the  Code of Ethics etc that they thought a little more detail could have been included, but otherwise it is good.’  

 after additions – ‘No problem, the work book looks fine’

Martin – Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for BA Professional Policing at Nottingham Trent University 

Police Recruitment Start to Finish Book

Regarding your Police Recruitment Start to Finish Book, I gave it to some of the Policing Tutors who are all ex-Police and the feedback was extremely positive.

Therefore I’ve asked the Course Leader to think about purchasing one for each of our final year students.  I’m not sure how many we have!

Update : Books for final year students have been ordered incuding a presentation for students at Gloucestershire University for the Futures Conference Employability Week in January 2023 !

Natalie – University of Gloucestershire 

 

I was made aware of Careers In Blue by a family member and I’m so glad I used them! Chris and Jan are excellent coaches and helped me to pass my Online Assessment Centre. They are so knowledgable and made sure I knew exactly what to expect going into the assessment. The workbooks they provide are also really useful and so much better than any information I found online. I would definitely use Careers In Blue again and recommend them to anyone applying for a career in Policing. Thank you again!

Jasmine – applying for the Degree Holders Entry Programme – Detective Entry

Advice regarding Police Online Assessment Centre

I am so thankful to Chris and Jan for their guidance. 

I attended their workshop for the Online Assessment Centre and I am so thankful that I did!

It really helped me to formulate my answers and to understand the questions from the interviewer perspective. 

Their workbook was an amazing reference and covered eberything for the Onlne Assessment. I will absolutely be coming back for support as my career within the police progresses ! 

Jessica – attended Career in Blue Assessment Centre Workshop!

Successful in Interview for NWROCU

Despite being in the job for over 26 years I used Careers In Blue to help me prepare for a sideways move and dream role at NWROCU. 

Careers In Blue helped me to understand the competencies, prepare my evidence, pracrice my interview several times with constructive feedback.

I couldn’t have done it without their expertise,advice and help. 

I highly recommend anyone to get some professional support to move forward with their career. Thank you Careers In Blue !

Rachel – serving officer with NWROCU

Lancashire Volunteer Partnership

My name is Mark, and I was considering applying for a promotion at work, however it was some time since my last interview. Also, I was not sure at my age necessarily the best way to approach this.

Jan from CareersInBlue provided me with the assistance and preparation I needed to be interview ready and this included a mock interview!!

The outcome was that I got the job and can now look forward to a new chapter in my career thanks to CareersInBlue

Mark – promoted within Lancashire Volunteer Programme 

Police Constable Degree Apprenticeship

Hi Chris and Jan 

Just to let you know I start the PCDA on Monday, thank you again for all your help and support you gave me during the interview process. 

Ceris – commenced PCDA – Merseyside Police

 

 

Serving Merseyside Police officer

Having already trying to join the Police without any external help and failing I decided to give Careers In Blue a go. Safe to say I haven’t looked back!

They were so helpful every step of the way and made the process 1000% easier.

The best feedback I can give them is that I have now achieved my dream and joined the Police.” 

Josh – Serving Merseyside Police Officer and doing his dream job !

Former Special Constable now Serving Police Officer

At first, I utilised Careers in Blue to help prepare me for my online assessment centre as I did not know what to expect.

Following this first session and throughout the recruitment process, Chris and Jan have kept in regular contact with me via email and the weekly chat, which enabled me to ask any questions I was worried about and receive a little weekly pep talk.

This helped to put my mind at ease and boost my confidence.

The evening before my final interview, I joined the weekly chat for some last minute guidance. Chris and Jan ran through some practice questions with me, which allowed me to calm my nerves and get into the zone ready for tomorrows interview.

Thanks to the help and support I received from Careers in Blue, I was successful at the online assessment centre and final interview.

I have now received my official offer of employment with Merseyside Police and I cannot thank Careers in Blue enough as they pushed me to do my best and I would highly recommend to anyone who is hoping to join the police! 

Millicent – Serving Merseyside Police Officer 

Degree Holders Entry Programme

 became aware of careers in blue through a family member when I had passed shortlisting when applying for the role of a police officer. 

It was the best decision to enroll with Careers in Blue. 

I started studying a couple of weeks before I was given my assessment centre date. 

The ladies, Jan and Chris, were so helpful and supportive. They presented a very professional slide show, via teams in the comfort of my home, of everything I needed to know in regards to the assessment centre. 

Prior to applying for the role of a police officer, I was cabin crew for 4 years and most recently I work as police staff but only 6 months before applying.  Therefore, I only had a limited knowledge of policing and didn’t know what was needed to hit all the criteria needed to pass my assessment. 

My level of confidence was at rock bottom when I started my studying and didn’t think I would even pass the assessment centre. 

I attended weekly meetings with Careers in blue and received my own handbook of everything I needed to look over in my own time and to make notes of examples on. 

The ladies answered every question and ensured I had all the resources I needed to study in preparation 

Chris and Jan ensured me that my hard work would pay off and it did as I have passed everything and I am now waiting for my start date!

After successfully passing my assessment centre, I booked my final interview. I wanted to have a practice beforehand, therefore I booked a mock interview with Jan and Chris. 

The questions were catered to topics that I was worried about and had discussed with Jan and Chris. It was really useful and a relief as I knew specific topics were covered, I had an answer for them and I wasn’t nervous if I was asked a similar question in my real interview. 

The mock interview kept me on my toes ensuring I was prepped. They informed me of techniques and plans to create my personal examples and how to answer them ensuring contingencies and values were hit. 

If I hadn’t had joined Careers in Blue, I wouldn’t have become a confident candidate for the application process. It was all the help of Chris and Jan. 

I cannot express how grateful I am for their help and support I would not have passed otherwise. 

Careers in blue offer so many helplines from completing the initial application to prep for the final interview. I would truly recommend the program it is worth every penny. 

Rachel – Currently Serving Merseyside Police Officer 

Retired Police Officer - Now Police Staff

I first encountered Christine many years ago when we were both serving officers in Merseyside Police.  

I had applied for a posting which necessitated an interview.   Having never previously undertaken a structured interview, I sought out her counsel, knowing how approachable she is, and any pointers she could give me.  Thanks to the generous coaching and advice she gave me, I passed the interview. 

Having retired from being a police officer, I returned to the police as a member of support staff, and recently applied for a job with a higher pay grade than that which I am currently employed.  

This also involved an interview, and I immediately sought out Christine as to giving me the necessary information and support needed.   This was to be a lateral move within the Merseyside Police support staff and one which involved not only a ‘paper sift’ but a test and an interview.

Thanks to Chris’ support, help and guidance, I also passed this process and am currently awaiting a posting. 

Christine’s knowledge and experience within the police service is second to none and her administrative and mentoring skills are exemplary. 

Gareth – Retired Police Officer now employed as Police Staff

Degree Holder Entry Programme

I can’t recommend Jan and Chris enough to anyone who is in need of help or guidance during the course of their police application.

It is such a stressful and challenging process and having the level of support I received allowed me to actually enjoy every step of the way.

The work certainly paid off and I felt relaxed and at ease during my interview. As a result, I was offered a conditional place on the Degree Holder Entry Programme. I genuinely believe I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them! 

Rebecca – Merseyside Police Degree Holders Entry 

 

Having retired from the police force three years ago I recently applied for a job working for the Canal and River Trust, in a role I really wanted. Realising I hadn’t had a formal interview since 2006 I enlisted the help of Careers In Blue and contacted Chris and Jan to bring me up to date with interview techniques, modern day questions and the experience of an actual interview. Not only did they provide all of this they also helped me to realise how much experience and relevant skills for the role I was applying for, I had.

In fact, their mock interview was much harder than the actual job interview itself !!! Chris and Jan gave me an in-depth debrief following my interview and highlighted several areas for development. This really helped for me to focus my mind on providing relevant evidence and exampled answers to questions. I was successful in securing the job and will start in the New Year.

I know that with the help and guidance afforded to me by the coaching techniques used by Jan and Chris, this enabled me to effectively demonstrate my skills and abilities for the role.

Many thanks and I would certainly recommend Careers In Blue to anyone who needs help securing a new role without hesitation.

Joe, Retired Police Officer